Buddhism and Its Teachings on Nobility

The Three Marks of Reality

Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Buddhism and Its Teachings on Nobility
Just from $13/Page
Order Essay

The three marks of reality involve Dukkha, Anicca, and Anatta. Dukkha encompasses unease, suffering, and dissatisfaction. In this case, the teachings advocate for analysis and the causes of suffering to understand and overcome the situation or event. Since Buddhism is not inherently pessimistic: we must attempt and see things as they are later responding appropriately. Anicca is about impermanence and change and since we are often disturbed by the element of a chance we get used to things. This includes us, in flux and when things arise and pass, it becomes difficult for one to cling to anything. Anatta is not a permanent self behind reality because everything relates to elements of ‘process’ and ‘change.’

The Four Noble Truths

The noble truths relate to suffering, its origin, cessation, and the path to the cessation of the suffering. Suffering is a fact put first in Buddhism, and the first step is to know its cause by looking at the ‘I’ aspect deeply. Therefore, we always struggle to get pleasurable things and avoid painful things to find security and ease. The form symbolizes ways of manipulating people and situations in ways that they (I) desire. Since the ‘I’ does not fit with what the rest of the world wants, we find ourselves cutting the flow of things in general. In the process, we get hurt and disappointed and therefore, we sum that suffering may come to an end through transcending ‘I’ which is a strong sense. Thereby, causing us to come into greater harmony with things and the means is The .

The Noble Eightfold Path

Right view is important because we need to see the truth of the Four Noble Truths and their beginning. Right thought is a natural flow from the above and ‘right’ defines the way things are as different from how an individual would want them to be. Right speech, action, and livelihood consist of moral restraint preventing people from ills like stealing, lying, committing violent acts, or harming others. Moral restraint brings general social harmony besides controlling and diminishing the ‘I’ sense. Right effort enables ‘I’ sense to thrive on wrong efforts and idleness. The appropriate awareness and concentration characterize the first steps towards liberation from all forms of suffering (Ingram, 2007).

Buddhist traditions


India missionaries took Buddhism to different countries and achieved a foothold in Sri Lanka. It later moved to Burma, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, and parts of Vietnam. They promoted Separative Teaching also known as Vibhajjavada, and eventually it reached its geographical extent. The concepts and practices include Dana, Sila, Karma, The Cosmos, Paritta (chanting of rituals), worship, festivals, and pilgrimages.


In China, Korea, Japan, and Vietnam this religion is predominant. It was during the Han dynasty (206 BCE to 22o CE) that the tradition penetrated China and acceptance was among workers. Later, the ruling class accepted it in the 6th century enabling the religion to reach Japan. However, during China’s Cultural Revolution the tradition underwent severe repression. T’ein-t’ai, Hua-yen, Pure Land teachings, and the Meditation School are its distinct schools and engage in practices like the above tradition.


China, Russia, Mongolia, and Tibet are its adherents and in Tibet, the King requested for it, but it went underground due to the conflict that ensued with the native Tibetan religion. In this tradition, strong emphasis is laid on ritual and ceremony involving Sila, Dana, Pilgrimage, and Worship. The practice of searching a young child at the time of death was practiced, and the child became the successor to the teacher who died.

The rulers of Tibet saw the need for ritual methods that stabilized and or expanded their political power. It is evident that to these rites in meeting change needs and included most fundamental customs like ceremonies and oathing to benefit political and religious elite (Walter, 2009). Many forms of tradition are available for Buddhism due to their many sects and interpret them differently depending on their origin. Scripture reading or meditation, mantra reciting in greeting, scripture reciting and temple visits is some of the common things.


Ingram, D. M. (2007). Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha. The Interdependent Universe.

Walter, M. L. (2009). Buddhism and Empire: The Political and Religious Culture of Early Tibet. PA, Leiden: BRILL.